Beer Review: Straffe Hendrik Quadrupel

Straffe Hendrik Quadrupel and O.G. Copyright 2015 by Andrew Dunn.

Straffe Hendrik Quadrupel and O.G. Copyright 2015 by Andrew Dunn.

To reward myself for a day’s worth of grading today, I cracked open a Straffe Hendrik Quadrupel. This is a beer brewed by Da Halve Maan Brewery in Bruges, Belgium.

The brand, which is one of two owned by De Halve Maan, also comes in a tripel variety. But you guys know how I feel about quads.

Smell: It has a light prune aroma. It’s not an unappealing scent. Just an earthy, dried fruit smell.

Sight: This quad pours chocolatey brown with a nice hazelnut head.

Straffe Hendrik Quadrupel poured into O.G. Copyright 2015 by Andrew Dunn.

Straffe Hendrik Quadrupel poured into O.G. Copyright 2015 by Andrew Dunn.

Taste: This beer has a strong boozy burn to it, like a fiery whiskey. I think it would benefit from aging. There is also a sweet malty flavor. It has a bit of that roasted malt flavor you get from a porter or a stout. That makes it stand out a bit.

Alcohol: Straffe Hendrik’s quad waddles in at 11.2 percent. That’s high by any measure. As I mentioned, the alcohol is pronounced. So this won’t be a beer you will be chugging at the beach.

Overall: I do like the toasty malt flavor. While I don’t mind the burn, some may be turned off by it. I really do think I’d like to try it again with some age on it. All in all, though, it is a good beer and worth a taste.

Bottom line: This beer runs about $5. While that seems a high price to pay, it compares quite well with other more expensive quads. So it is worth buying if you are looking for a cheaper quad option.

 

Leave a comment